Multiple databases

Everything, that fits not well into other forums - Questions, Talk, Beta-Versions ...
Timmer
Posts: 14
Joined: 23. Jan 08, 04:44
Location: Michigan
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Multiple databases

Postby Timmer » 1. Feb 08, 01:44

I noticed in the command line options that you can specify the database to start Silverjuke with, ex:

--db=mymusic.db

How can I create a new database separate from mymusic.db so I can maintain more than one database?

Thanks

Timmer
Posts: 14
Joined: 23. Jan 08, 04:44
Location: Michigan
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Multiple databases

Postby Timmer » 1. Feb 08, 02:22

Please disregard - I figured it out...

For anyone that would like to know...
1) Create Library
2) Copy library to a different folder
3) Create another library and copy it to it's own folder
4) Start Silverjuke with the following command line:
silverjuke --db=C:\New Directory\DatabaseName.db

Guest
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Multiple databases

Postby Guest » 1. Feb 08, 09:32


Timmer
Posts: 14
Joined: 23. Jan 08, 04:44
Location: Michigan
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Multiple databases

Postby Timmer » 1. Feb 08, 11:36


User avatar
DNO
Posts: 16
Joined: 12. Feb 08, 04:05
Location: Orange County, CA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Multiple databases

Postby DNO » 12. Feb 08, 05:34

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. However, I could not create 2 libraries that wouldn't interfere with each other, without some tweaking. I solved it by doing this:

1) Install Silverjuke twice, each in seperate directories.
2) Create a unique database in each directory
3) Create 2 shortcuts on XP desktop, each calling a unique *.db, and *.ini (instance)

ex: under SHORTCUT>TARGET, I entered:
C:\Silverjuke\Silverjuke.exe --instance=C:\Silverjuke\DNOMusic.ini --db=C:\Silverjuke\DNOMusic.db

Then for the 2nd shortcut, I entered:
C:\Silverjuke-All\Silverjuke.exe --instance=C:\Silverjuke-All\DNOAll.ini --db=C:\Silverjuke\DNOMusicAll.db

The end result is by mouse-clicking the shortcut "Silverjuke - DNO" will launch Silverjuke with "only" 400 popular albums. Launching "Silverjuke - All" will allow selection of my full library, with all the bizarre and arcane selections only my DJ friends would enjoy!

Guest
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Multiple databases

Postby Guest » 12. Feb 08, 09:39

> 1) Install Silverjuke twice, each in seperate directories.

In my experience, this is not necessary unless you want to use different versions. --instance plus --db should do the job.

B.

Matt
Posts: 5
Joined: 30. Nov 12, 01:53
Location: Australia
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Multiple databases

Postby Matt » 1. Dec 12, 08:25

Hi, I am having trouble with this and was hoping someone might help. I would like to have two seperate libraries for my wife and I and I would like to do this by adding commands to the targets of desktop shortcuts, I have been able to add the mysettings.ini file to the silverjuke .exe folder and I can see this being used in the advanced menu inside silverjukes UI, my problem is that windows 7 does not seem to accept my modified shortcut target and responds with an error saying that the name "C:\Program Files (x86)\Silverjuke\Silverjuke.exe"--ini=mysettings.ini' in the target box is not valid. Make sure the path and file name are correct. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. BTW my os is win7 home premium 64 bit.

Thanks,
Matt

Virgus
Posts: 39
Joined: 9. Oct 06, 19:43
Location: Rome, Italy
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Multiple databases

Postby Virgus » 4. Dec 12, 08:09

Hello Matt,
I'm still using XP so I cannot give you help about Windows7
but I often use scripting to do this kind of things.

You could choose amongst many scripting languages.
The simplest I know are AutoIt, AutoHotKey, VBscript (but you have so many other choices...)
You have functions to run programs which take into account the parameters fields
and you can do a lot of other things as well...

Regards,
V.

SilverEagle
Posts: 713
Joined: 30. Sep 08, 14:00
Location: Netherlands
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Multiple databases

Postby SilverEagle » 4. Dec 12, 11:02

Matt wrote:
> ...my problem is that windows 7 does not seem to accept my modified shortcut target and responds with an error saying that the name
> "C:\Program Files x86)\Silverjuke\Silverjuke.exe" --ini=mysettings.ini'
> in the target box is not valid. Make sure the path> and file name are correct.

Some pointers:

Usually this error means your quoting of the path in the shortcut is wrong. First make sure the shortcut works without the --ini added. Make sure the path in the shortcut is the same, and quoted correctly as well. Also better put the shortcurs somewhere 'legal' where a user can edit them, win7 does not like editing in the program dir.
Then add the --ini setting. Note that in your forumpost you appended a closing-', but not an opening-'. Coincidence or related?

Next you need a --db= parameter as well for what you want. (In fact you probably could just use the --db and forget the --ini, but that depends on your needs.) Copy the music.db to somewhere else and/or another name, and use that for the --db param. Notice it needs a full path, won't default to your user dir as far as I know.

SilverEagle

Matt
Posts: 5
Joined: 30. Nov 12, 01:53
Location: Australia
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Multiple databases

Postby Matt » 5. Dec 12, 03:26

Virgus wrote:
> Hello Matt,
> I'm still using XP so I cannot give you help about
> Windows7
> but I often use scripting to do this kind of
> things.
>
> You could choose amongst many scripting
> languages.
> The simplest I know are AutoIt, AutoHotKey,
> VBscript (but you have so many other choices...)
> You have functions to run programs which take into
> account the parameters fields
> and you can do a lot of other things as well...
>
> Regards,
> V.
Hi Virgus thank you for your reply, I think the scripting side of things may be a bit beyond my current skill level. Although it is something I am interested to learn about i think I will try to persevere with the what the Silverjuke Team have already provided.

Thanks again


[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Return to “Main Forum”