I created a simple script for kiosk startup.
Put this file in de sj-directory, and sj starts in kiosk-mode.
Best regards john
New script for kiosk-start
- djjb
- Posts: 128
- Joined: 15. Nov 05, 13:41
- Location: Geldrop / Holland [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
New script for kiosk-start
- Attachments
-
- program.kioskstart.sj
- (100 Bytes) Downloaded 368 times
-
- Posts: 713
- Joined: 30. Sep 08, 14:00
- Location: Netherlands [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: New script for kiosk-start
djjb wrote:
> I created a simple script for kiosk startup.
Hi John,
What does this differ from adding '--kiosk' to the startup command, is there a timing issue with loading the default skin or executing other program.onLoad commands either way?
Regards,
SilverEagle
> I created a simple script for kiosk startup.
Hi John,
What does this differ from adding '--kiosk' to the startup command, is there a timing issue with loading the default skin or executing other program.onLoad commands either way?
Regards,
SilverEagle
- djjb
- Posts: 128
- Joined: 15. Nov 05, 13:41
- Location: Geldrop / Holland [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: New script for kiosk-start
You got me ..
I realy don't know, but it works for me.
I have no problems with starting up other scripts.
About the default skin. I don't know what you mean.
I use it here as default. no problems at all.
I will try some things out.
I realy don't know, but it works for me.
I have no problems with starting up other scripts.
About the default skin. I don't know what you mean.
I use it here as default. no problems at all.
I will try some things out.
-
- Posts: 713
- Joined: 30. Sep 08, 14:00
- Location: Netherlands [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: New script for kiosk-start
djjb wrote:
> You got me ..
> I realy don't know, but it works for me.
I can imagine people prefering this to editing a shortcut, after just explaining in another thread how to do that I realized again Windows is one ugly user-unfriendly beast if you want to do just that little bit outside colorized-button-land... Copying your script is certainly easier!
Regards,
SilverEagle
> You got me ..
> I realy don't know, but it works for me.
I can imagine people prefering this to editing a shortcut, after just explaining in another thread how to do that I realized again Windows is one ugly user-unfriendly beast if you want to do just that little bit outside colorized-button-land... Copying your script is certainly easier!
Regards,
SilverEagle
- djjb
- Posts: 128
- Joined: 15. Nov 05, 13:41
- Location: Geldrop / Holland [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: New script for kiosk-start
But am I right that you mean, that there can be only one script running with a program.onLoad command?.
I tried it with a 'alert'. The alert shows up and after closing the alert, kiosk was starting.
I tried it with a 'alert'. The alert shows up and after closing the alert, kiosk was starting.
-
- Posts: 713
- Joined: 30. Sep 08, 14:00
- Location: Netherlands [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: New script for kiosk-start
djjb wrote:
> But am I right that you mean, that there can be
> only one script running with a program.onLoad
> command?.
No, you could say every separate script silverjuke finds somewhere and runs has its own 'environment'. (A separate case are the scripts you load into a skin with <script src=...>, they are all part of the same skin environment.)
Each environment can have it's own .onLoad, it's own timer, etc.
(By the way: I think the only documented way for a script to call a function from another environment is by using the exportFunction()/callExported() pair.)
As far as I know you don't have control over execution order of onLoad statements, and by extension of the functions you have set up with them. This is what my original question was about: if this effect was something you used intentionally somehow.
The disadvantage of your method of putting SJ into kiosmode is that depending on unknown reasons influencing execution order of the onLoad functions, the program is put into kioskmode before or after other scripts' onLoad function. So you do not know if the active skin's onLoad command will run in kioskmode or not, and even if that behaviour is deterministic.
That all said: I did not see any script in a skin posted which really took into account if SJ was already in kioskmode when their onLoad function ran, so it's all very acedemic.
Sorry for the complicated explanation, in the end it all boils down to "Yes, every standalone script can have a onLoad", and "Your script is fine for 99.99% of all possible situations and 100% of all the existing ones".
Regards,
SilverEagle
PS to all the experieced skinners and SJ-Team: I do hope I got it all right...
> But am I right that you mean, that there can be
> only one script running with a program.onLoad
> command?.
No, you could say every separate script silverjuke finds somewhere and runs has its own 'environment'. (A separate case are the scripts you load into a skin with <script src=...>, they are all part of the same skin environment.)
Each environment can have it's own .onLoad, it's own timer, etc.
(By the way: I think the only documented way for a script to call a function from another environment is by using the exportFunction()/callExported() pair.)
As far as I know you don't have control over execution order of onLoad statements, and by extension of the functions you have set up with them. This is what my original question was about: if this effect was something you used intentionally somehow.
The disadvantage of your method of putting SJ into kiosmode is that depending on unknown reasons influencing execution order of the onLoad functions, the program is put into kioskmode before or after other scripts' onLoad function. So you do not know if the active skin's onLoad command will run in kioskmode or not, and even if that behaviour is deterministic.
That all said: I did not see any script in a skin posted which really took into account if SJ was already in kioskmode when their onLoad function ran, so it's all very acedemic.
Sorry for the complicated explanation, in the end it all boils down to "Yes, every standalone script can have a onLoad", and "Your script is fine for 99.99% of all possible situations and 100% of all the existing ones".
Regards,
SilverEagle
PS to all the experieced skinners and SJ-Team: I do hope I got it all right...
- djjb
- Posts: 128
- Joined: 15. Nov 05, 13:41
- Location: Geldrop / Holland [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: New script for kiosk-start
Hi SilverEagle,
Thanks for your replies. Don't know if I understand it all.
It gave me a good feeling that you came up with the '99.99% fine' conclusion.
I'm still new to this scripting, and learn every day a little bit more.
Stil working on a skin without buttons. So everything must work with shortcuts. And some shortcuts have more than one action. So I need a script for this actions.
Maybe there comes a time that the 'program.kioskstart' wil not work, or other scripts that won't start. That will be sad but not a big problem for me.(still having a --kiosk shortcut)
Best regards,
John
Thanks for your replies. Don't know if I understand it all.
It gave me a good feeling that you came up with the '99.99% fine' conclusion.
I'm still new to this scripting, and learn every day a little bit more.
Stil working on a skin without buttons. So everything must work with shortcuts. And some shortcuts have more than one action. So I need a script for this actions.
Maybe there comes a time that the 'program.kioskstart' wil not work, or other scripts that won't start. That will be sad but not a big problem for me.(still having a --kiosk shortcut)
Best regards,
John
-
- Posts: 713
- Joined: 30. Sep 08, 14:00
- Location: Netherlands [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: New script for kiosk-start
djjb wrote:
> Stil working on a skin without buttons. So
> everything must work with shortcuts.
Will you post that skin when it is finished? And will you use the keyboard or some other button-device?
I am very interested in seeing your take on this, I did get a Samsung 800x480 photoframe for my birthday, and they can be used over USB as a (second) monitor. I want my living room PC to use that for interfacing to SJ.
I already made a very space-efficient minimal skin for that - in fact that was what got me into SilverJuke and into skinning originally. I will post it one of these days/weeks) but it is meant for my wireless mouse.
But I was wondering if it would be easier on such a small screen to use the keyboard or maybe even e dedicated homebrewn button-device, so I'm very curious how your ideas about this will function.
Cheers,
SilverEagle
> Stil working on a skin without buttons. So
> everything must work with shortcuts.
Will you post that skin when it is finished? And will you use the keyboard or some other button-device?
I am very interested in seeing your take on this, I did get a Samsung 800x480 photoframe for my birthday, and they can be used over USB as a (second) monitor. I want my living room PC to use that for interfacing to SJ.
I already made a very space-efficient minimal skin for that - in fact that was what got me into SilverJuke and into skinning originally. I will post it one of these days/weeks) but it is meant for my wireless mouse.
But I was wondering if it would be easier on such a small screen to use the keyboard or maybe even e dedicated homebrewn button-device, so I'm very curious how your ideas about this will function.
Cheers,
SilverEagle
- djjb
- Posts: 128
- Joined: 15. Nov 05, 13:41
- Location: Geldrop / Holland [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: New script for kiosk-start
Hi SilverEagle,
Here is a picture of my livingroom. On the right side you see the juke.
I created a wooden box with big buttons. Now i use a nice keyboard.(beer is killing)
O yeah! the little black tv is for karaoke.(normaly standing on top of the bar)
best regards,
john
Here is a picture of my livingroom. On the right side you see the juke.
I created a wooden box with big buttons. Now i use a nice keyboard.(beer is killing)
O yeah! the little black tv is for karaoke.(normaly standing on top of the bar)
best regards,
john
- Attachments
-
- bar.jpg (31.8 KiB) Viewed 3324 times
-
- Posts: 713
- Joined: 30. Sep 08, 14:00
- Location: Netherlands [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable